Best Lawyers in America® 2024 Recognizes 61 Pierce Atwood Attorneys Across All Firm Offices

Pierce Atwood  is pleased to announce that 61 lawyers firmwide have been recognized as a “Best Lawyer” in the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®. Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence.

Lawyers on The Best Lawyers in America list are divided by geographic region and practice areas. They are reviewed by their peers based on professional expertise and undergo an authentication process to make sure they are in current practice and in good standing. Notable “Best Lawyers” additions this year include:

  • Deborah DiNardo, a Providence-based partner, recognized for Trusts & Estates Litigation
  • Katharine E. Kohm, a Providence-based partner, recognized for both Construction Law and Construction Litigation
  • Mary Clements Pajak, a Boston-based partner, recognized for Trusts & Estates Law
  • Mary-Laura Greely, a partner in the firm’s Boston office, recognized for Mergers & Acquisitions Law
  • Merrill L. Kramer, a DC-based partner, recognized for Utilities Law
  • Suzanne W. King, a Boston-based partner and Employment Practice Group Chair, recognized for Labor Law - Management

In addition, five attorneys were recognized as a “Lawyer of the Year," a recognition presented annually to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one attorney is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each specialty and location. The partners receiving this notable peer recognition are:

  • Barbara K. Wheaton: Trusts & Estates Law and Trusts & Estates Litigation – Portland, Maine
  • David E. Barry: Bet-the-Company Litigation – Portland, Maine
  • Jan P. Myskowski: Elder Law – Concord, NH
  • John E. Bulman: Construction Law – Providence, RI
  • Matthew D. Manahan: Land Use & Zoning Law – Portland, Maine

Finally, we are also pleased to note that 14 firm attorneys were included in the category, “Ones to Watch.” These recognitions for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the U.S. are given to attorneys who have been in practice for 5-9 years. Like the Best Lawyers recognitions, these awards are also based on peer review. This year’s honorees are:

  • Ariel Pardee: Privacy and Data Security Law
  • Christina M. Berkow: Mergers & Acquisitions Law
  • Christopher A. Baxter: Intellectual Property Law, Patent Law
  • Daniel R. Strader: Labor & Employment Law – Management; Labor & Employment Litigation
  • Elizabeth M. Frazier: Government Relations Practice
  • Griffin Leschefske: Trusts & Estates Litigation; Trusts & Estates Law
  • Karishma Jiva Cartwright: Intellectual Property Law
  • Katherine L. Porter: Corporate Law; Labor & Employment Law – Management; Labor & Employment Litigation
  • Kathleen M. Heyer:  Land Use & Zoning Law
  • Kellie E. MacDonald: Immigration Law
  • Kyle M. Noonan: Commercial Litigation
  • Olga J. Goldberg: Litigation & Controversy – Tax; Tax Law
  • Peter H. Kenlan: Real Estate Law
  • Sara A. Murphy: Commercial Litigation; Banking & Finance Litigation; Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions - Defendants

A complete listing of Pierce Atwood’s attorney recognitions is available at Best Lawyers.