Best Lawyers in America® 2022 Recognizes 63 Pierce Atwood Partners

Twelve partners named “Lawyer of the Year"; twelve attorneys named “Ones to Watch”

Pierce Atwood LLP is pleased to announce that 63 partners across all firm offices have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2022 (Copyright 2021 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC). Notable “Best Lawyers” additions this year include:

  • Jana Magnuson, a partner in the firm’s Portland office, recognized for Trusts & Estates law
  • Katherine Kayatta, a Portland-based partner, recognized for Commercial Litigation
  • Lisa Gilbreath, a Portland-based partner, recognized for Environmental Law and Environmental Litigation
  • Nolan Reichl, a partner in the firm’s Portland office, recognized for Appellate Practice and Commercial Litigation

In addition, 12 attorneys were recognized as a “Lawyer of the Year.” “Lawyer of the Year” is a recognition presented annually to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one attorney is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each specialty and location. The partners receiving this notable peer recognition are:

  • Barbara K. Wheaton: Trusts & Estates Litigation – Portland, Maine
  • Brian M. Rayback: Environmental Law – Portland, Maine
  • Brooks R. Magratten: Health Care Law – Providence, Rhode Island
  • Christopher E. Howard: Mergers & Acquisitions Law – Portland, Maine
  • David J. Champoux: Securities/Capital Markets Law – Portland, Maine
  • Gavin G. McCarthy: Construction Litigation – Portland, Maine
  • Jared S. des Rosiers: Energy Law – Portland, Maine
  • Jonathan A. Block: Tax Law – Portland, Maine
  • Margaret LePage: Labor Law – Employment  – Portland, Maine
  • Molly Liddell: Trusts & Estates – Portland, Maine
  • Paula M. Devereaux: Land Use & Zoning Law – Boston, Mass.
  • Randy Rich: Energy Regulatory Law – Washington, DC

Finally, we are also pleased to note that 12 firm attorneys were included in the recently-added category, “Ones to Watch.” These recognitions for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the U.S. are given to attorneys who have been in practice for 5-9 years. Like the Best Lawyers recognitions, these awards are also based on peer review. These year’s honorees are:

  • Daniel R. Strader
    • Labor and Employment Law - Management
    • Labor and Employment Litigation
  • Elizabeth M. Frazier
    • Government Relations Practice
  • Emily J. Dupraz
    • Environmental Law
    • Land Use and Zoning Law
  • Joel Quick
    • Land use and Zoning Law
    • Real Estate Law
  • Karishma Jiva Cartwright
    • Intellectual Property Law
  • Kayla J. Grant
    • Administrative/Regulatory Law
    • Energy Law
  • Kellie E. MacDonald
    • Immigration Law
  • Kyle J. Glover
    • Intellectual Property Law
  • Kyle Noonan
    • Commercial Litigation
  • Nicole M. Matteo
    • Commercial Litigation
    • Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants
    • Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Plaintiffs
  • Ryan F. Kelley
    • Banking and Finance Law
    • Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization Law
  • Sara A. Murphy
    • Commercial Litigation
    • Banking and Finance Litigation
    • Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants

A complete listing of Pierce Atwood’s attorney and firm recognitions is available at Best Lawyers.