Presidential Proclamation on Travel Ban

On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a proclamation establishing country-specific travel restrictions for nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. Nationals of Iraq would not be subject to any outright ban on travel, but will be subject to additional screening measures. The country-specific travel restrictions are effective immediately for nationals of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen who do not have a bona fide relationship to a U.S. person or entity. The new restrictions would take effect on October 18, 2017, for all other persons subject to the proclamation, including nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia who have a bona fide relationship with a U.S. person or entity, as well as nationals of Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela.