Andrew Kaplan Receives 2021 Phil Symons Award from U.S. Energy Storage Association

Pierce Atwood is pleased to congratulate firm energy partner Andrew O. Kaplan on receiving the Energy Storage Association’s 2021 Phil Symons Energy Storage Award. This award recognizes individuals or organizations that have driven market development for the energy storage industry. Andrew is the first private practice attorney to receive this recognition.  

Named for the late Dr. Philip Symons, whose career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become a founding member of the Energy Storage Association and its Chairperson from 1997-2003, Andrew was selected for this award for his leadership and advocacy efforts to advance the energy storage industry. Andrew is credited with winning important rulings before FERC and state PUCs that have helped pave the way for significant growth throughout the energy storage industry.

If you would like to speak with Andrew about developing, permitting, or financing energy storage projects, please contact him at 617.488.8104 or