McIntyre Steps Aside as FERC Chairman; Chatterjee Appointed

Late Wednesday evening, FERC Chairman Kevin McIntyre tendered his resignation as FERC Chairman due to health reasons. He will continue to serve as a Commissioner. The White House subsequently announced Commissioner Neil Chatterjee’s appointment as FERC Chairman. Note that Chairman Chatterjee is the Chairman of FERC, and is not serving in an “acting” capacity.

On November 15, the Senate Energy Subcommittee is expected to hold confirmation hearings for Bernard McNamee as a new FERC Commissioner. McNamee is currently Executive Director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Policy.

Please visit FERC for the full text of Chairman McIntyre’s resignation letter.

For questions on this or any FERC-related issue, please contact Randall S. Rich (202.530.6424),  Andrew O. Kaplan (617.488.8104), or Valerie L. Green (202.530.6415).