Katahdin Counsel Recognizes 13 Firm Attorneys for Pro Bono Work

Pierce Atwood is pleased to announce that 13 firm attorneys have been recognized by the Maine Supreme Judicial Court's 2016 Katahdin Counsel Recognition Program for providing at least 50 hours of legal assistance to low income and elderly Mainers.

Chief Justice Leigh I. Saufley honored a total of 107 lawyers and four law students who donated more than 11,000 hours of legal work in the past year to Mainers in need of civil legal aid. 

The Pierce Atwood attorneys recognized in 2016 were:

  • John Aromando
  • Sarah Beard
  • Andrew Davis
  • Tony Derosby
  • Jared des Rosiers
  • Kaitlyn Husar
  • Ryan Kelley
  • Ralph I. Lancaster, Jr.
  • Griffin Leschefske
  • Jana Magnuson
  • Liam J. Paskvan
  • Nolan L. Reichl
  • Barbara Wheaton

The Katahdin Counsel Recognition Program was created in 2012 by the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, in response to a proposal by the Justice Action Group, to focus the public's attention on the critical role that pro bono publico plays in maintaining a vibrant civil justice system. The purpose of the Katahdin Counsel Recognition Program is twofold. First, to establish an annual process for recognizing and honoring the pro bono work of Maine's lawyers. Second, to encourage more lawyers to provide such services for Maine's low-income residents to help to meet their growing unmet legal needs.